Board of Directors

Scales Corporation Board

Tim Goodacre, Non Executive Independent Chairman

Tim was elected to the Board in 2014, having been appointed Chairman of Scales’ Horticulture division in 2012. He has been involved in agribusiness for nearly forty years and was CEO of Zespri International from 2003 to 2007. Tim is currently: Chairman of The Nutritious Kiwifruit Company Limited, which is a consortium of New Zealand kiwi fruit suppliers selling under a new single brand based around nutrition and health on the Australian market; Director of Prevar Limited, an Australian and New Zealand joint venture apple and pear industry company, supporting the development and commercialisation of new apple and pear varieties; Director of Nagambie Healthcare, a community hospital and aged care facility, based in regional Victoria, Australia; President of Nagambie Lakes Tourism and Commerce Incorporated; and Director of Featherston Resources Limited. Tim is a member of Scales’ Nominations and Remuneration Committee.

Andrew (Andy) Borland, Executive Director

Andy joined Scales in 2007 and became Managing Director in 2011. Prior to joining Scales he had a 20 year career in banking, with his final role being Head of Corporate at Westpac New Zealand. Andy has overall responsibility for the strategic direction and day-to-day management of Scales. In addition to his directorships of the Group, Andy is currently the Chairman of Akaroa Salmon Limited, Primary Collaboration New Zealand Limited and Primary Collaboration New Zealand (Shanghai) Co. Limited, and is a Director of apple and pear industry body New Zealand Apples & Pears Incorporated, George H Investments Limited, Rabobank New Zealand Limited, Rabobank Australia Limited and Rabo Australia Limited. Andy also has an involvement with Central Otago deer and beef cattle breeding and fattening farming company Loganbrae Limited. Andy is a member of Scales’ Finance and Treasury Committee and Scales’ Health and Safety Committee.

Nick Harris, Non Executive Independent Director

Nick was elected to the Board in 2014, having been appointed a Director of both Scales’ Storage & Logistics division and Meateor in 2012. Nick was previously the Managing Director, and was one of the founding shareholders of Hellers Limited, New Zealand’s largest bacon, ham and small goods company. Nick is a shareholder and Director of several private companies. He also chairs Enterprise North Canterbury Trust and is Deputy Chairman of the Canterbury Hockey Association. Nick is Chairman of Scales’ Health and Safety Committee and is a member of Scales’ Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Mark Hutton, Non Executive Independent Director

Mark was elected to the Board in 2011. He is a founding partner of Direct Capital. Mark has a background in private equity, specialising in portfolio management with a focus on strategy, growth and capital funding. Mark is currently a Director of a number of Direct Capital entities and portfolio companies including George H Investments Limited. Mark is also: Director of dual listed (NZX and ASX) New Zealand King Salmon Investments Limited; and Director of investment company, Evergreen Partners Limited. Mark is Chairman of Scales’ Nominations and Remuneration Committee, Scales Finance and Treasury Committee and is a member of Scales’ Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Alan Isaac, Non Executive Independent Director

Alan was elected to the Board in 2014. Alan was the President of the International Cricket Council between 2012 and 2014 and is currently; Chairman of McGrathNicol and Partners NZ and the New Zealand Community Trust; a Director of New Zealand Vault Limited, Oceania Healthcare (NZ) Limited, Skellerup Holdings Limited and a number of private companies. Alan has an extensive background in the accounting and finance field and is a former National Chairman of KPMG. He was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) in 2013 for services to cricket and business. Alan is Chairman of Scales’ Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Weiyong Wang, Non Executive Director

Mr Wang was appointed to the Board in June 2016. He is a Director of China Resources Ng Fung Limited and CEO of its holding company, China Resources Enterprises, Limited (CRE). Mr Wang joined the China Resources National Corporation in 1988, and holds a Bachelor of Science degree and a Bachelor’s degree in Management Science from the University of Science and Technology of China, as well as a Master’s degree in Engineering from Tsinghua University. He has extensive experience in strategic planning and corporate management.

Nelson Liu, Alternate Director for Weiyong Wang

Nelson was appointed as an Alternate Director for Weiyong Wang on 15 June 2018. Nelson is the Overseas Operations Officer of China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited, a Hong Kong listed company primarily involved in the investment in, and management of, ports and terminals worldwide. He is also a director of the Port of Newcastle, Australia. Nelson has more than 20 years’ experience in both port and logistics businesses, and has an MBA from the Roosevelt University, USA.